Day 4 of Freya Pickard week

Cover of Insides by Freya Pickard

Today I want to tell you about my most recent publication. I wrote the poetry contained within it as I went through a colostomy, bowel cancer, open surgery, chemotherapy and the long drawn out process of recovery. It helped me at the time to embrace the terrible things I had to endure.

Insides – Poetry Collection

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Insides-Dragonscale-Delvings-Book-1-ebook/dp/B01M2UQAWJ/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1478095985&sr=8-2&keywords=freya+pickard


Insides is mixture of short form poetry blended with my “clippings”.

To tell the tale of my darkest nightmare, I use blank verse, haiku, tanka, cinquain, elfje, lantune, cherita and my very own freyan verse.

The poetry ebbs and flows from despair and fear to determination and sheer grit to get me through to recovery.

But, as I find and express through my journal notes which find their way into short form poems, recovery happens in many stages and isn’t as immediate as I hoped or wished.

This collection will bring comfort and renewed determination to anyone dealing with a life-threatening illness. And, it is hoped, that those on the edges, watching from afar, will be enabled to identify more with the sufferers of cancer.

THE WHOLE PACKAGE IS HERE, FOR YOUR VIEW/DOWNLOAD 🙂
https://wingofdreams.files.wordpress.com/2016/11/freya-week-enclosure.pdf

Leave a Reply

