Thursday Fun n Frolics 2.3.17 is for Raghunandan Kuppuswamy of Agnishatdal

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: Tell us something about yourself Raghu.
Raghunandan Kuppuswamy: Well, a fairly middle-of-the-road life with not too many ups and downs. 40-years in IT. Lucky to be with org’s and colleagues that I was never burnt out with rewarding interactions with many many professionals, young and old. Am in FB and LinkedIn though not very active.

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: How did an IT Industry veteran became such an expert on mythology?
Raghunandan Kuppuswamy:I used to buy a lot of story books to engage my daughters. And there were many quaint unheard-of stories in these books: mythology, moralistic, humorous like Tenali Raman…

We’re lucky to have such an inexhaustible supply. I’m no expert. I just read where and when I can find them – these days there are these online forums bringing in their contributions.

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: Do you read a lot and then pick up the best for us, your blogs?
Raghunandan Kuppuswamy:Yes, I do read. Often I’m able to pick up story-lines from most unlikely of places! These stories – I select short ones – need a bit of retelling to engage today’s kids (and us too). I was told during my recent visit to US the Panchatantra stories we grew up on are too violent and unsuitable for the kids out there!

Sharmishtha basu@ Agnishatdal: Will you tell us a little about your three blogs, and share their urls so we can read them?
Raghunandan Kuppuswamy:
My primary blog is ‘Kaleidoscope’ [https://ksriranga.wordpress.com/] for clean humor. And this is where I write my stories too, mainly for kids.

For technical matters, not necessarily IT, it is ‘About This And That’ [https://tskraghu.wordpress.com/]. It is usually at a conceptual level, not for the nerds.

The third blog ‘Sanmargam’ [https://arangamanagarulane.wordpress.com/] is more for the soul! Besides stories, quotes, etc. I also include travelogue here.

There is a fourth blog ‘Cheers And Jeers’ [https://tskranga.wordpress.com/] meant for matters of public interest. Not very active for sometime now.

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: Do you have any plans of publishing your works or have you already done that?
Raghunandan Kuppuswamy:No, my friend. No plans at all. I just enjoy my little writing spells.

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: What will you tell us, the Indians of your next generation (s), especially those who are to build this country in future?
Raghunandan Kuppuswamy:Often they surprise me with ideals that are much stronger than we hold, with more wisdom than we credit them with…So I think the land is in good hands unless we’re swamped by this unbridled growth in population and consumption straining all resources.

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: Any suggestion for Agnishatdal?
Raghunandan Kuppuswamy:I think it’s doing great. In the time to come it’ll constantly rediscover itself and evolve to make a very significant presence in its niche.
Sharmishtha Basu@Indie Adda: Do you have anything to say, suggest Indie Authors? As a reader and a fantastic writer?
Raghunandan Kuppuswamy:Serious reading has not yet lost it to aimless surfing. Nevertheless it may be necessary to experiment with newer formats, narration, etc. to engage readers.

Thank you, K Raghunathan
http://ksriranga.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

