Thursday Fun n Frolics 18.5.17 is for Sakhi Bansal

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: Tell us something about yourself! [Add your contact details on social media please (FB gmail etc anything you want to share with readers)!                                                          
Sakhi Bansal: I am a curious mind who like to explore a lot; I see this world as a pleasing place to be in. Life pushed me hard, making me see things with the new perspective that I like penning down, humour is my armour, sympathy and patience are my strength and my weakness, I am a good listener and I am imaginative and creative, I always try to find new ideas, and try to apply them. I am a good listener and possess some emotional intelligence; I like to support people. I am basically the complex person, with a lot of thoughts running amok in my mind. I am not very strong-willed, and usually lazy, but I am determined in my actions and keep strong opinions. Things always don’t go my way, so I decided to take one day at a time and try not to keep any goals but follow my heart. I keep trying my hand at new things, and I can Quill expertly, I love making flowers from those colourful strips. You can call me a Jack of all Trades, as I can make several kinds of arts. My love for writing is the gift from my beloved father. This blog was started with the inspiration an insistence from a couple of friends, but now it is my passion, and I love to blog. I am a total movie buff, love watching English movies especially, Music is in my soul, and I love both Hindi and English music, but old Hindi songs are my weakness. I love to read, be it books or blogs, though biographies and newspapers are not my cups of tea, I love fiction and literature mostly. Colourful things attract me; My favourite is Blues in all its Hues.

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: Tell us a little about your journey on planet earth. How do you travel? As a writer, reader, observer or someone else?         
Sakhi Bansal: I am a simple person with complex personality. As a traveller on this planet I would say, I love nature, I believe in live and let live. The reader in me is impatient, I need to know the end, I need closures. But my glitch is I can’t read next book if I can’t finish the current one owing to the fact that it’s boring. I am a sticker for mystery and thriller genre. The writer in me is very random, any thought can get hold of me and make me write, I can find my muse in most mundane things. But I like to go all in when I write, hate word limits and love to dive deep in the topic. Flash fiction and poetry are my forte. I observe this world as a resident, it’s my home, not as a visionary or philosopher, I really care about it. Each tree uprooted hurts me, as I love to see trees everywhere. 
Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: Are you a reader or wannabe author ?  
Sakhi Bansal: First I am a reader, then I am an aspiring Author. I believe in the saying “good readers make good writers, good listeners make good speaker.” I can read anything from a magazine yo a blog, from a novel to a classic. I avoid newspapers, documents, and biographies. As a writer I have some desires to be well known, to leave an impact on my reader, to woo them. I don’t believe in writing to impact, I believe in writing to stir something in them, all the good, the bad and the ugly. My reader should be enriched or enlightened or emboldened in some way.

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: What is your favorite genre- when you are writing and when you are reading! Who are  your favorite authors? What do you like most about them?                   
Sakhi Bansal: my favourite genre is Mystery, Thriller and Drama when reading. To write I prefer Romance, Comedy, Poetry and Free Standing Articles.                             
I like when writers are known by their writing styles, you can tell it’s their book just by the way they take the book along. My favourite authors are:
Jeffrey Archer – Archer on the other hand revolves the story around a character and his family. The story usually traces the hardships, growth and evolution of the protagonist over many years and in some cases like the Clifton chronicles over many generations. Also with Archer’s books, there is always the fate/serendipity factor where characters are pitted alongside the mysterious fate which entangles their lives. Taking the example from Archer’s most renowned work “Kane and Abel”, the world war 2 part of the book where Abel ends up saving Kane’s life. Also the fascination of Archer to bring in the World War in most of his books. With Archer I always expect to fly by the seat of my pants and that rush. 
Sidney Sheldon – With Sheldon, I know I get to read great metaphors, fast paced story, twists and turns and he will take one line of profession and subtly exploit it from all angles almost giving you a crash course.. 
Dan Brown – Dan Brown’s books mostly revolve around an organisation or group which are shrouded in mystery. He gives his take on the workings of the historical events and how things might have transpired. All this wrapped around an intense time ticking thriller. It’s both fast paced and filled with facts and mysticism. Dan Brown is always a cornucopia of facts, trivia and fiction rolled into one. His books are like an insight to things that are covert and controversial. You can’t skip reading a page, you will miss a very vital hint.
J.K.Rowling – What to say about Rowling, the way she has spun a seven book series known as Harry Potter is marvellous. She has a unique style, she has left the reader with some questions in book one, and answered some in book 2, then 3 and 4,5,6 and 7, and then again she asked some questions in book 2 that were answered slowly in next 5 editions. I mean it’s like a jigsaw puzzle that all fits into place when you read the last word of book 7, not many can do that. 
Paulo Coehlo- For Coelho I would say, I feel that to understand Paulo Coelho , one has to understand that he does not write for literary fame. You will hardly find any lucrative paragraphs or tortuous words in his writings. His way of writing is simple and he focuses on delivering more by writing less. Every story written by him has a deeper meaning confined within it although it is decorated by simple everyday words. King has a talent for putting his readers into the world he creates – whether it be 1960s backwoods Maine, a 1930s Louisiana prison, or a fantasy world entirely of his own imagining. He creates engaging characters who you want to root for and puts them in situations where they have to fight to stay alive. And what’s more: he is not afraid to kill off the good guys, because he knows that in real life, sometimes evil wins. King writes great, snappy dialogue, amazing inner dialogue, and descriptions that range from poignant to chilling.
GRR Martin – Martin if course has changed the way we read epics, classics as he took all the taboos and made a book of it, and he made people fall in love with that book. He has written some very sensitive issues in his tale but made them look so important to the plot that he seems totally justified in his choices. 
Khaled Hosseini – Khaled Hosseini is, no doubt, one of my most favourite authors of all times. If you ask why, I would say mostly because he is an awesome story-teller. I love the way his stories encompass the true raw emotions of his characters, their tryst with destiny and with society. The emotion flows free, both in the characters and in my mind visualizing them. And I love the way he puts forward a picturesque depiction of Afghanistan and the way of life there. I am not going to cite excerpts from his novel because of course you must have read him. As of now, I have read The Kite Runner and A Thousand Splendid Suns both of which were excruciatingly beautiful, detailed and heart-breaking at the same time.
Stephen King – I read Stephen King because he is the only writer who has made me care so much about characters that I have thrown the book across the room when they’ve died – and then ran across to pick it up and keep reading.  I have re-read The Stand eighteen times and some of the deaths in there never fail to move me.  I read King because some of his works have genuinely kept me up nights – not just reading them, but lying awake afterward, wondering what lurks in the dark shadows beyond the edge of my doorway. Even though the rational mind knows there is nothing there, he sets my brain working. He is a masterful storyteller indeed. 

Sharmishtha basu@ Agnishatdal: Where do you see yourself in future? Say ten years from now!
Sakhi Bansal: In some ten years from now I hope to see myself as a Author of atleast a couple of books to my name in my bookshelf. I see myself as someone who wrote purely from her instincts and as someone who wrote more to please herself than her readers as I have heard that you should be our first beta reader, first critic, first fan and until you don’t feel good about your book, the readers never will.

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: Do you blog? Tell us a little about what you blog about and if there is some future plans about that, say if it is your launch pad to the writing world or world of enlightenment, self discovery! What is your blog url?
Sakhi Bansal: yes I do blog, at least once daily. My blog is a Pandora’s box, a reflection of me. I pen whatever is going on in my mind that day. I haven’t given it say one particular genre as I am a moody person and can choose to write anything. You will find poems, prose, flash fiction, short stories, articles, quotes, pictures, links, reblogs. It’s a fun ride to read it I promise you. My blogs future is to have a good readership where I can also showcase any books I write. I love feedback as it helps me grow and refine. https://quillnparchment.com/ my URL. 

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: Any suggestion for Agnishatdal?
Sakhi Bansal: Well, I would suggest something concrete when I get to research it more, right now I see the ezine has many picture posts, maybe we can limit them and increase literary material.

Sharmishtha Basu@Indie Adda: Do you have anything to say, suggest Indie Authors?
Sakhi Bansal: yes, I would like to suggest them to write from heart, be true to your instincts and listen to the inner voice as they pen their thoughts.

Leave a Reply

