Thursday Fun n Frolics 6.7.17 is for Troy David Loy

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: Tell us something about yourself
Troy David Loy: Thank you for the honor, Sharmishtha. I’m a big fan of lifelong learning, and endeavoring to make my remaining years interesting and productive. I’m both a ‘doing’ person as well as a ‘being’ person, so both keeping active and quality of life are important, especially living in the moment, because it won’t ever come again. It’s become of central importance now that I’m in my early fifties, so every day must count. I’m never promised tomorrow, nor do I think anyone else is.

I occasionally post my brain droppings on Twitter at @Troythulu, update my status on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/KingOfShards, and my fractals on Tumblr at https://troythulu.tumblr.com. 

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: What is the secret behind those fabulous fractals you create? Did you had a formal course on creating them?
Troy David Loy: Well, I’ve never studied them at university or other learning institution. Almost all of it comes from learning on my own from books, websites, and video lectures over the last six years with bits and pieces put together into something vaguely resembling a coherent excuse for knowledge.

My secret really isn’t that much of one, though having a decent eye for esthetics goes well with it: explore, play, and practice constantly. That’s pretty much it. I poke around for good programs to use and never stop tinkering with each program’s settings, tweaking numbers, using unexpected fractal types, and even some coding in new ways that might, just maybe, lead to something beautiful and otherworldly. The first app I ever used continues to generate tons of new images even today. It helps to know the math, and some of the coding, but I want to learn both more so that I may write my own software. We’ll see in the next few years how that turns out.

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: Do you read a lot and then write those brilliant science fictions?
Troy David Loy: I read whenever I get the chance, and write likewise. I’ve always loved science fiction, though I’ve a soft spot for fantasy and horror too, mostly things like Terry Pratchett’s Discworld, Michael Morcock’s Eternal Champion cycle, and the better works of Howard Phillips Lovecraft and his circle of writers, though I’m not terribly fond of some of his social views, especially his racism and rabid xenophobia. I watch a lot of science fiction, too. I’m a big fan of Star Wars, Star Trek, and the classics from such greats as Isaac Asimov, Ray Bradbury, and Arthur C. Clarke, as well as still extant writers like Harlan Ellison and S. A. Barton. Right now, I’m watching a television series Ellison wrote for, ‘The Star Lost.’

Sharmishtha basu@ Agnishatdal: Will you tell us a little about your blogs, and share their urls so we can read them?
Troy David Loy: I currently blog at https://troythulu.blogspot.com after having published for nearly eight years at https://kestalusrealm.wordpress.com. I’ve plans to return to posting on WordPress in December of next year on the very date nine years since creating the site. I needed time away to draw plans to make it better. Both blogs are skeptically themed, though that’s meandered over the years, so that and psychological reasons impelled the switch to my current site. I’d prefer to keep largely to skeptical topic matter, though that’s not a rigid rule. Much of it, besides the fractals and fiction, on either blog, deals with the twin themes of science and reason, using both to evaluate the evidence offered for extraordinary factual claims. There are articles on how human thinking sometimes goes wrong, how to know it, and suggestions for fixing it. Our brains are very powerful tools, but also limited, with great strengths and great weaknesses, and I think it’s important to be humble about what we think we know, and how we think we know it.

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: You have already published your book. Tell us a little about it and the url from where we can buy it, also its cover please.
Troy David Loy: It’s a short story set in my Gods of Terra universe, told in first person from a being calling himself the Mirus, a former slave-soldier who was turned into an apocalyptic weapon by aliens, and then broke free from his masters to seek his destiny in a region of space called the Local Galaxy. The story involves a danger to the Mirus’ ancestral homeworld in the form of an ancient race of horrific aliens on a genocidal quest whom the Mirus must face with little chance of defeating outright.

It may be found at https://www.amazon.com/Dirge-short-Troy-David-Loy-ebook/dp/B00XMS1ZJ2 for only $0.99. I’m thinking of updating it for a second printing in the future, though that’s uncertain at this point.

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: Any new book in future? If yes then when, if no then why?
Troy David Loy: I’m currently working on a collection of micro-fiction, and have drafts for two other books in the works based on serial fiction installments on my old blog, though radically re-written and corrected, with much better characters and pacing. I’ve yet to give titles to them just yet, at least until the manuscripts are finished. I plan on having the current micro-fiction collection out by March of 2017, and others to follow shortly.

Sharmishtha Basu@ Agnishatdal: Any suggestion for Agnishatdal and Agnijaat? Being the dream reader you can tell a LOT about them, do you see a good future for them?
Troy David Loy: I’ll tell your readers what I suggested to you earlier in 2016. It would be good to see articles on classic Indian cinema and music, mostly oldies, and a monthly cooking recipe for those of us interested in experimenting with Indian or Bengali cuisine. It’s hard to know the long-term future of any venture into publishing with any certainty, but I’m optimistic about both eZines, and think they’ll go far. That’s my non-psychic prediction for 2017.

Sharmishtha Basu@Indie Adda: Do you have anything to say, suggest Indie Authors? As a reader and a fantastic writer?
Troy David Loy: I’d suggest the fiction of Stuart A. Barton, who’s come up with some really brilliant and inspired SF lately. Full disclosure: he’s an old friend from my days of gaming at a local comic shop years before it closed its doors in 2008, so there’s a bit of bias there. He’s the one responsible for coining my moniker ‘Troythulu’ after a talk I had with him one day. He’s really good at both making and taking good ideas and turning them into great characters and compelling plots. He blogs at https://sabarton.com/ and can be found on Twitter at @Tao23.

Troy David Loy

kestalus@verizon.net
1522 Chela Avenue, Unit A-1
Norfolk, VA. 23503
Phone: (757) 587-8550

https://www.amazon.com/author/troyloy

Leave a Reply

